Plenary Speakers

Prof. Cinzia Casiraghi holds a Chair in Nanoscience at the Department of Chemistry, University of Manchester (UK). She received her B.Sc. and M.Sc. in Nuclear Engineering from Politecnico di Milano (Italy) and her Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Cambridge (UK). In 2005, she was awarded with an Oppenheimer Early Career Research Fellowship, followed by the Humboldt Research Fellowship and the prestigious Kovalevskaja Award (1.5M Euro). In 2010 she joined the department of chemistry at the University of Manchester. Her current research work focuses on the development of biocompatible 2D inks and their use in printed electronics and biomedical applications. She has published more than 100 works in well-respected journals in the field, by collecting more than 36,000 citations and a h-factor of 58. She has been chair/co-chair and member of conference committees of several prestigious conferences, such as MRS, MRS, Graphene Week, Graphene conference, etc. She also serves as editorial board member of Nanoscale and Nanoscale Advances, both published by the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC). She is a leading expert on Raman spectroscopy, used to characterize a wide range of carbon-based nanomaterials, as shown by the RSC Marlow Award (2014), given in recognition of her pioneering work on Raman spectroscopy. She is recipient of the Leverhulme Award in Engineering (2016, 100K GBP), and the recent RSC 2020 Gibson-Fawcett Award, in recognition of her contribution in the development of water-based 2D inks. She was also awarded an ERC Consolidator grant (2015, 2M Euro), ERC Proof of Concept (2020, 150K Euro) and ERC Advanced (2021, 2.5M Euro, converted into UKRI).



Prof. Xiaoning Jiang is a Dean F. Duncan Distinguished Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and a University Faculty Scholar at North Carolina State University. He is also an Adjunct Professor of Biomedical Engineering at North Carolina State University and University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and an Adjunct Professor of Neurology in Duke University. Dr. Jiang received his Ph.D. degree from Tsinghua University (1997) and his Postdoctoral training from the Pennsylvania State University (1997-2001). He was the Chief Scientist and Vice President for TRS Technologies, Inc. prior to joining NC State in 2009. Dr. Jiang is the author and co-author of two books, 6 book chapters, 24 issued and pending US Patents, more than 160 peer reviewed journal papers and over 120 conference papers on piezoelectric ultrasound transducers, ultrasound for medical imaging and therapy, drug delivery, ultrasound NDT/NDE, smart materials and structures and M/NEMS. Dr. Jiang serves as the Vice President for Technical Activities in IEEE Nanotechnology Council (NTC) and as an editorial board member for several journals. He was the Co-Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Nanotechnology Magazine (2020 – 2021) and an IEEE NTC Distinguished Lecturer in 2018 and 2019. Dr. Jiang is an ASME Fellow, a SPIE Fellow and an IEEE Fellow.
Prof. William P. King  is Professor and Ralph A. Andersen Endowed Chair in the Grainger College of Engineering, Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering, and in the Carle Illinois College of Medicine, Department of Biomedical and Translational Biosciences. He also holds courtesy appointments in the Departments of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering. Dr. King’s research focuses on manufacturing and advanced materials, microsystems and nanotechnology, and heat transfer. He is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the American Physical Society (APS), the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), SME International (formerly Society of Manufacturing Engineers), and the National Academy of Inventors (NAI).
Prof. Andras Kis is a Full Professor in Electrical Engineering at EPFL, Lausanne. He started his group in 2008 and has been working on 2D materials and atomically thin TMDCs since then. His interests span electronic devices, exciton and valley physics in TMDCs and material growth. His pioneering work on MoS2 transistors was the first demonstration of a transistor based on a 2D semiconductor and has been cited over 13’000 times. Andras Kis is also serving as the editor-in-chief of the Nature partner journal 2D materials and applications and is a highly cited researcher.

Before joining EPFL as faculty, Andras Kis was a postdoctoral researcher at UC Berkeley in the group of Prof. Alex Zettl. He received his Ph.D. in physics from EPFL in 2003 in the group of Prof. László Forró and MSc in physics from the University of Zagreb, Croatia.

Prof. Qiangfei Xia is an Electrical & Computer Engineering professor at UMass Amherst and head of the Nanodevices and Integrated Systems Lab. Before joining UMass, he spent three years at Hewlett-Packard Laboratories. He received his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering in 2007 from Princeton University. Dr. Xia’s research interests include beyond-CMOS devices, integrated systems, and enabling technologies, with applications in machine intelligence, reconfigurable RF systems, and hardware security. He is a recipient of the DARPA Young Faculty Award, NSF CAREER Award, and the Barbara H. and Joseph I. Goldstein Outstanding Junior Faculty Award. He has served on the technical committees of several conferences, such as ISCAS, IEDM, EDTM, and EIPBN (2023 conference chair). He is a ‘Highly Cited Researcher’ according to Clarivate, and an IEEE Fellow “for contributions to resistive memory arrays and devices for in-memory computing.”

Prof. Xiaoying Zhuang’s key research area is computational materials design for nano composites, metamaterials and nanostructures as well as computational methods for multiphysics and multiscale modelling. Dr. Xiaoying Zhuang obtained her PhD in Durham University, UK in 2011, which is followed by her postdoc in Norwegian University of Technology in Trondheim and then as a faculty staff in Tongji University. In 2015, she was awarded with the Sofja-Kovalevskaja Programme from Alexander von Humboldt Foundation that brought her to Germany and she focused on the modelling and optimization of polymeric nanocomposite. Her ongoing ERC Starting Grant is devoted to the optimization and multiscale modelling of piezoelectric and flexoelectric nano structures. In 2018, she was awarded with Heinz-Maier-Leibnitz Prize and in 2020 awarded with Heisenberg-Professor Programme of DFG.
Prof. Mario Lanza got a PhD in Electronic Engineering (with honors) in 2010 at Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona. In 2010-2011 he was NSFC postdoc at Peking University, and in 2012-2013 he was Marie Curie postdoc at Stanford University. In October 2013 he joined Soochow University as Associate Professor, and in March 2017 he was promoted to Full Professor. Since October 2020 he is an Associate Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at the King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST), in Saudi Arabia. Prof. Lanza has published over 185 research papers, including Nature, Science, Nature Electronics and IEDM (among others) and has registered four patents (one of them granted with 1 million USD). He is a Distinguished Lecturer of the Electron Devices Society (IEEE-EDS), the editor-in-chief of the journal Microelectronic Engineering (Elsevier), and serves in the board of many other journals and conferences, including IEEE-IEDM and IEEE-IRPS. Prof. Lanza leads a research group formed by 10-15 PhD students and postdocs, and they investigate how to improve electronic devices and circuits using 2D materials, with special emphasis on resistive switching applications.