NMDC 2018 Awards

NMDC 2018 Awards

Awards were presented at the Banquet on Wednesday October 17.

IEEE Nanotechnology Council Awards

The Nanotechnology Council’s Pioneer and Early Career Awards were presented at NMDC 2018 by Council President Yonhua (Tommy) Tzeng.

Pioneer Award
Presented to Prof. Nader Engheta
H. Nedwill Ramsey Professor
Electrical and Systems Engineering, Physics and Astronomy, Materials Science and Engineering, Bioengineering
Department of Electrical and Systems Engineering
University of Pennsylvania
“For his transformative contributions to the nanoscience and nanotechnology of photonic metamaterials and for the development of optical nanocircuits”.





Early Career Award

Presented to Professor Can Bayram
Micro and Nanotechnology Laboratory
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering,
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
“For seminal contributions to III-V quantum devices and their hetero-integration on silicon and graphene platforms through nanotechnology”.


NMDC 2018 Best Paper and Best Poster Awards

Best Paper – Zhang

Best Paper: Bohua Zhang, Xiaoning Jiang and Huaiyu Wu (North Carolina State University, USA), “Ultrasound Thrombolysis with Magnetic Microbubbles Under a Rotational Magnetic Field”

Best Paper Nominee: Leslie Schlag and Nishchay Isaac (Technische Universität Ilmenau, Germany); Helene Nahrstedt (TU Ilmenau FG Nanotechnologie, Germany); Johannes Reiprich, Jörg Pezoldt and Heiko Jacobs (Technische Universität Ilmenau, Germany), “Self Aligning Growth of Nanoparticle-Based Interconnects”

Best Paper Nominee: Aline Eid, Bijan Tehrani, Jimmy Hester, Xuanke He and Manos M. Tentzeris (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA), “Nanotechnology-Enabled Additively-Manufactured RF and Millimeter-wave Electronics”


There was a tie for Best Poster.

Best Poster: Sandip Das, Samuel McWhorter and Erik Riefe (Kennesaw State University, USA), “Device Design and Photovoltaic Performance of Heterojunction Solar Cells Using Ultra-Thin Bi2S3 Photoabsorber”

Best Poster, Bag and Pal

Best Poster: Souvik Bag and Kaushik Pal (Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Roorkee, India), “A PCB Based Chemiresistive Carbon Dioxide Sensor Operating at Room Temperature Under Different Relative Humidity”






Key Dates